St. Thomas More Society of San Francisco

www.stthomasmore-sf.org

Executive Committee J. Dennis McQuaid, President Adrian G. Driscoll, 1st Vice President Honorable Martin J. Jenkins, 2nd Vice President Robert L. Zaletel, Secretary Thomas K. Hockel, Treasurer Dean Jeffrey Brand Timothy P. Crudo Honorable Robert L. Dondero Matthew F. Graham Thomas G. Lewellyn Isabelle L. Ord Gregory E. Schopf, Immediate Past President Address Correspondence To: J. Dennis McQuaid Hanson Bridgett LLP 425 Market Street 26th Floor San Francisco, CA 94105 Telephone: (415) 995-5066 Facsimile: (415) 995-3567 dmcquaid@hansonbridgett.com

Chaplain Msgr. Labib Kobti

December 6, 2010

Dear Members,

We will be closing a wonderful year for the Society at our Christmas luncheon on Thursday, **December 16** at the Family Club. In addition to a wonderful lunch and celebration of the holiday season, we will be having a short business meeting to elect the Executive Committee for 2011.

As has been our tradition in recent years, the winner of our annual essay contest will be our special guest, along with her parents and teacher, and will read her winning essay. This year's winner is Catherine Pabalan, an eighth grader at St. Stephen's School. Her winning essay, a letter to the newly elected President Aquino of the Philippines encouraging him to follow the example of St. Thomas More during his Presidency, will be posted on our website (www.stthomasmore-sf.org).

In furtherance of our support of St. Anthony's Dining Room as our special outreach project this year, we will have one of the staff from St. Anthony's as another special guest. St. Anthony's is thrilled with the idea of coordinating a drive with our December lunch. Their volunteer coordinator thought it might be too cumbersome to ask members to bring food to the lunch, so she suggested packages of white athletic socks and travel-sized toiletries, both of which she said they always need. As part of your Christmas gift-giving, please bring with you to the luncheon either the socks or toiletries which we will collect for St. Anthony's. Of course they will be happy to accept your donation if you would rather make that your gift.

Please make your reservation on the attached. If you cannot attend and wish to make a contribution to St. Anthony's through the Society, you may do so using the Reservation Form.

Business Meeting

The Nominating Committee has presented the following slate for election to the Executive Committee of the Society for 2011:

President: Adrian Driscoll

Vice Presidents: First VP: Bob Zaletel; Second VP: Justice Martin Jenkins; Third VP: Justice Robert Dondero Members and Friends St. Thomas More Society of San Francisco December 6, 2010 Page 2

Secretary: Thomas Hockel

Treasurer: Isabelle Ord

Immediate Past President: J. Dennis McQuaid

Other Committee Members: Gregory Schopf, Dean Jeffrey Brand, Matthew Graham, Timothy Crudo, Iain MacDonald, Tom Mazzuco and Judge Suzanne Bolanos.

The above slate will be placed in nomination at the meeting. In accordance with our By-laws, other members may be nominated from the floor.

Summary of 2010

I want to thank everyone in the Society for your enthusiasm and participation during this past year.

We have enjoyed some wonderful and inspiring speakers such as Professor Cathleen Kaveny of Notre Dame, Bishop Cordileone of Oakland and Bishop Justice of San Francisco, and the dynamic speaker at our November Pastors luncheon, Sister Sandra Schneiders of the Jesuit School of Theology.

We held a Day of Recollection at the Cathedral of Christ the Light in Oakland. We had three sessions of Theology on Tap led by Dean Jeff Brand and Fr. Donal Godfrey. We had three days at which our members volunteered at St. Anthony's Dining Room.

We had a special Red Mass during the American Bar Association Convention at St. Mary's Cathedral. We also had our annual Red Mass, held this year at the beautiful Notre Dame Des Victoires, followed by our banquet at which we honored Past President Hugh Donohoe as this year's St. Thomas More Award winner.

All of the above would not have been possible without the full participation and outstanding counsel and advice I have received from my fellow Executive Committee members and our wonderful chaplain, Monsignor Labib Kobti. They all deserve our heartfelt thanks for their special devotion and contributions to the St. Thomas More Society.

Pray for Peace,

Dennis

J. Dennis McQuaid President

Enclosure: RSVP Form